Better Streets Commission

The Better Streets Commission is comprised of five (5) appointed residents that each serve a staggered two (2) year term. The purpose of the Commission is to advise the City Manager on the design, operations and maintenance of the Monte Sereno street system by putting people first, considering pedestrians, bicyclists, transit, traffic controls, lighting, vehicular circulation and parking. The Commission shall identify and advise on integrated, coordinated, environmentally sustainable and economically efficient street rehabilitation solutions that address multiple demands on the street system such as underground utilities, street trees, storm water management and contamination runoff issues. The Commission has no independent duties and no authority to take actions on behalf of the City. The City Manager may refer any recommendation from the Commission to the City Council for direction. The Commission meets regularly on the second Thursday of each even month at 7:00 PM. The rules and procedures for the Better Streets Commission are set forth in the Monte Sereno Municipal Code.

The Commission consists of:

  • Barry Chaffin; term expires December 31, 2025
  • Omar Billawala; term expires December 31, 2025
  • Steven White; term expires December 31, 2025
  • Liz Lawler; term expires December 31, 2024
  • Natalia Nazarova; term expires December 31, 2024 

Staff Liaison:  City Engineer, 408-498-5276,

Maddy Act

Agendas and Minutes